Azad Jammu and Kashmir abbreviated as AJK and usually known as Azad Kashmir, is a district controlled by Pakistan as a nominally self-governing dominion, and establishing the western portion of the greater Kashmir region which has been the subject of a disagreement between India and Pakistan since 1947, and between India and China since 1962. 

The territory shares a border with Gilgit-Baltistan, together with which it is referred to by the United Nations and other international administrations as “Pakistan administered Kashmir”. 

Azad Kashmir is one-sixth of the size of Gilgit-Baltistan. The territory also borders Pakistan’s Punjab province to the south and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province to the west. 

To the east, Azad Kashmir is separated from the Indian administered Kashmir by the Line of Control, the de facto border between India and Pakistan. Azad Kashmir has a total area of 13,297 square kilometres (5,134 sq mi), and a total population of 4,045,366 as per the 2017 Census.


  1. Lahore to Kashmir: 512 K.M.

  2. Islamabad to Kashmir: 167 K.M.

  3. Karachi to Kashmir: 1546 K.M.

Weather & height

  • + 30 Degrees

  • – 15 Degrees

  • Kashmir is 1,038 m (3,406 ft) above Sea Level

Attractions and places to visit

  • Banjosa Lake
  • Ratti Gali Lake
  • Shardah
  • Kel
  • Arrang Kel
  • Taubat
  • Kutton Jagran
  • Kutton Valley
  • Sharda University
  • Halmat
  • Sightseeing

  • Trekking

  • Jeep Safari